Leinster Badminton Octoberfest


After the Friday night and the BPL Launch of Premier Badminton in Leinster’s Terenure Centre, it was the turn of the Graded players to show their form this Bank Holiday weekend in the Octoberfest in Leinster’s Baldoyle Badminton Centre.
And it was another great turn out of players from all over Leinster and beyond to partake in this Graded Event.
On the Saturday we had divisions 5 down to 10, while Sunday was divisions 4 up to 2 and BI ‘B’.
Thanks to all those that took part in this 2 day event with special mention to those players that travelled up from a Limerick based club on the Saturday – The Limerick Blasters – we hope they enjoyed the day and the badminton and look forward to seeing them again.
Thanks also to our ever present volunteers for organizing and running our Graded Event, Dave, Veronica, Roby, Elaine, Christina and Mick, and to those that willing help and look after the groups round robin games.
The next Leinster Badminton Graded Event will be during the Festive Holidays – “The Christmas Bonanza” on the 28th and 29th of December – full details to be issued in due course.

The results of both days play is as follows.

Ladies Div BI & B
Winners : Laura Coe & Karen Nelson (Old Bawn)
Runners-UP : Kinga Dabrowska & Clare Finnegan (An Caislean Nua)
Ladies Div 2 & 3
Winners: Nicola Mountford & Alice O’Farrell (An Caislean Nua)
Runners-Up: Lynsey Walsh & Gillian Kennedy-Smith (Kilcullen)
Ladies Div 4
Winners: Wendy Verbruggan & Emily Miggan (ESB)
Runners-Up: Jennifer Kelly & Miriam Ní Chleirigh (St. Brigids)
Ladies Div 5
Winners : Angie Downes & Yvette Ebbs (Sheriff BC)
Runners-Up :Sharon Farrell & Derval Fitzsimons (Baldoyle & District)
Ladies Div 6
Winners : Emma Griffin & Mary Bird (Kells)
Runners-Up :Sarah Walshe (Kilcullen) & Siobhan Willis (St Laurances)
Ladies Div 6 Plate:
Winners : Oonagh Plunkett & Mary Byrne (ESB)
Runners-Up : Carmel Corbett & Fiona Kevitt (Danum)
Ladies Div 7
Winners : Grainne Dervan & Anita Janosi (Ashbourne)
Runners-Up: Noelle Byrne & Jina Lee (Sheriff BC)
Ladies Div 8 & 9
Winners: Danielle Devlin & Heather Ormsby (Dundrum)
Runners-Up : Jean McBryan & Áine Ramsay (Danum)

Men’s Div BI & B
Wiiners : John Amond & Chris Chambers (Pembroke)
Runners-Up : Willie Kelly (Kilmessen) & Declan Bennett (Johnswell)
Men’s Div 2 & 3
Winners: John Dineen & Ilayaraja Kathiresan (An Caislean Nua)
Runners-Up : Keith Cahill & Krzysztof Sieczkowski (An Caislean Nua)
Men’s Div 4
Winners: Satheesh Narayanan (Eire Friends) & Joshi Poulose (South Dublin BC)
Runners-Up : Suresh Shanmughan & Majanbaby Payyappilly (Limericks Blasters)
Men’s Div 5 & 6
Winners : Joshi Poulose (South Dublin BC) & Suresh Shanmughan (Limerick Blasters)
Runners-Up : Sugesh Chandran & Majanbaby Payyappilly (Limericks Blasters)
Men’s Div 7
Winners: Arun Johnson & Lino Varghese (Limericks Blasters)
Runners-Up : Conal Lawlor & Gopinath Ravindran (An Caislean Nua)
Men’s Div 8
Winners :Daniel Marcello & Vaidy Muthu (Sheriff BC)
Runners-Up :Wayne Scully & Dermot Crowley (Navan)
Men’s Div 9 & 10
Winners : Ahmed Ishtiaq & Philip Theis (Fairplay)
Runners : Jaison John & Pramod Vijayan (An Caislean Nua)

Mixed Div BI & B
Winners: John Amond & Laura Hennessy (Pembroke)
Runners-Up : Brian Colgan & Audrey Coe (Old Bawn)
Mixed Div 2
Winners: Aubrey Cox (Carlow YM) & Laura Coe (Old Bawn)
Runners-Up :Satheesh Narayanan (Eire Friends) & Lynsey Walsh (Killcullen)
Mixed Div 3 & 4
Winners: Ryan Lee & Helen Heery (PSLC)
Runners-Up : Shane Rourke & Wendy Vergruggan (ESB)
Mixed Div 5
Winners: Simon Keane & Hilary Colgan (PSLC)
Runners-Up :Mark Quijano & Victoria Dosado (PBAI)
Mixed Div 6
Winners: Joe Kirwan (Kilcullen) & Siobhan Willis (St Laurence’s)
Runners-Up : Gilbert Thay & Angie Downes (Sheriff BC)
Mixed Div 7
Winners :Daniel Marcello & Jina Lee (Sheriff BC)
Runners-Up : Jon Veracruz & Cora Lee (Fairplay)
Mixed Div 8 & 9
Winners :Dermot Crowley & Imelda Booth (Navan)
Runners-Up : Michael Smith & Ann Reid (Baldoyle & District)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *