



## **Dublin District Leagues & Cups**

Summary Report for Leinster AGM 2019

From our perspective the season of 2018/2019 was not just a great year for Leagues and Cups it was a fantastic year. We had 59 clubs in total one of which was called Johnswell.

As well as the league this committee also run seven graded tournaments and I know that the players who take part in them really enjoy themselves. We would like to thank Michael Smith, Christina Smith and John Hughes for their continued support and help in running these tournaments.

We very much appreciate the support that Badminton Ireland gives to the league each year and would also like to say how very grateful for being selected as the Badminton Ireland league of the year for 2018.

The cup and league semi-finals and finals take place in both Terenure and Baldoyle centres and these are very well attended by clubs, teams, players and supporters and the atmosphere at these events was electric.

We would like to extend thanks to our main supporters Yonex which out whom neither the league nor the graded tournaments could be run so successfully. At this point we feel that special mention should go to the staff and management of both Terenure and Baldoyle Badminton Centres for their help throughout the season.

As always, the aim of the Dublin District Leagues and Cups Committee is to increase the number of people playing badminton and entering our competitions. One of the ways that we do this is through our kick start tournament which we run in August.

At this point we would like to congratulate Danum who are the club of the year for 2018/2019 and wish them every success in the future.

We would like to thank Veronica Clare our administrator for her trojan work throughout the season. Her continued support has and always will be invaluable.

Finally, I would like to thank the rest of my committee members Joe Byrne, Dave Murphy, Elaine Horan, Roby *Vettoor* and Chad Lee, for their continue support to the leagues and cups committee.

Looking forward to the 2019/2020 Season

Yours in Badminton

Anne Kelly

Chairperson 2<sup>nd</sup> May 2019.